1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

What We Live For What We Die For Selected Poems

Zhadan Serhiy

9780300223361

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $29.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780300223361
Published: June 2019

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

An introduction to an original poetic voice from eastern Ukraine with deep roots in the unique cultural landscape of post-Soviet devastation

"Everyone can find something, if they only look carefully," reads one of the memorable lines from this first collection of poems in English by the world-renowned Ukrainian author Serhiy Zhadan. These robust and accessible narrative poems feature gutsy portraits of life on wartorn and poverty-ravaged streets, where children tally the number of local deaths, where mothers live with low expectations, and where romance lives like a remote memory. In the tradition of Tom Waits, Charles Bukowski, and William S. Burroughs, Zhadan creates a new poetics of loss, a daily crusade of testimonial, a final witness of abandoned lives in a claustrophobic universe where "every year there's less and less air." Yet despite the grimness of these portraits, Zhadan's poems are familiar and enchanting, lit by the magic of everyday detail, leaving readers with a sense of hope, knowing that the will of a people "will never let it be / like it was before."

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780300223361
Published: June 2019

Number of pages: 160
Width: 152 mm
Height: 197 mm
Depth: 11 mm

Publisher: Yale University Press

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.