1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

The Silence

Allott Susan

9780008389772

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $29.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780008389772
Published: May 2020

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

Longlisted for the New Blood Dagger Award 2021

'A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days' ESTHER FREUD

'Deeply engrossing ... an exquisite literary thriller' PHILIPPA EAST

'Emotionally wrenching' WALL STREET JOURNAL

'Impossible to put down' TREVOR WOOD
A missing woman

30 years ago, in the suffocating heat of a Sydney summer, the Greens' next-door neighbour Mandy disappeared without a trace.

A cold case reopened

In 1997, in a basement flat in Hackney, Isla Green is awakened by a call in the middle of the night: her father is under suspicion of Mandy's murder.

A devastating secret

How well does Isla know her father? Is he capable of doing something terrible? And is there another secret in their community - a conspiracy of silence which stretches deep into Australia's past?

------------------------------

'An atmospheric, convincing portrayal of the way that the decisions we make, both individually and collectively, reverberate down the years' GUARDIAN

'Allott uses the scandal of Australia's stolen children to devastating effect in this memorable debut' SUNDAY TIMES

'A riveting mystery, beautifully unwound. The Silence excavates dark, decades-old secrets buried in human hearts, in families and in nations. I read it in one weekend' ERIN KELLY

'An impressive and beautifully written, Australian-set debut with the devastating subject of the Stolen Generation at its core' FIONA MITCHELL

'Tense, atmospheric and brilliantly paced. The Silence is fraught with disturbing secrets and powerful emotions. I loved it' FRANCESCA JAKOBI

'A brooding, suspenseful debut' SUNDAY MIRROR

'A suspenseful, beautifully crafted debut for fans of Celeste Ng and Jane Harper' TELEGRAPH AUSTRALIA

'Intricate and suspenseful... [a] stellar debut' NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780008389772
Published: May 2020

Number of pages: 300
Width: 153 mm
Height: 234 mm
Depth: not specified

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.