1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

Sad Topographies

Rudd Damien

9781471169298

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $45.00
Format: Hardback
ISBN13: 9781471169298
Published: November 2017

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

Covering all continents, Damien Rudd explores the world's depressing place names and explore their etymology. The stories behind these sad topographies are interwoven narratives of history, landscape, exploration, mythology, local folklore and misadventure. From Disappointment Islandin the Southern Ocean to Calamity Lake in Minnesota, you can head up to All Alone in West Yorkshire, or if you're feeling more adventurous why not pay a visit to Crazy Woman Creek.

Sad Topographies navigates the terrains of historical fact and imaginative fiction, filling in the gaps where some of the etymologies have been lost over time in this collection of beautifully-illustrated maps. Poetic and dark-humoured, it's a celebration of our sad and melancholic cultural landscapes.

Containing stunning illustrations and a bespoke design, this is perfect for fans of Stories in the Stars or The Atlas of Remote Islands.

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Hardback
ISBN13: 9781471169298
Published: November 2017

Number of pages: 224
Width: 184 mm
Height: 258 mm
Depth: not specified

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.