1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

Cocaine and Surfing

Smith Chas

9780733638718

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $22.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780733638718
Published: June 2019

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

For readers of SCAR TISSUE by Anthony Kiedis, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET by Jordan Belfort, MP: THE LIFE OF MICHAEL PETERSON by Sean Doherty and OCCY: THE RISE AND FALL OF MARK OCCHILUPO by Tim Baker

There is an allure about surfers - they look like clean, bronzed athletes who love nature and tread lightly on the earth. But there has always been a darker side to surf culture. Chas Smith, ex-war correspondent and surf enthusiast, tells the no-holds-barred love affair of cocaine and surfing, and it makes for one hell of a story.

Surf trade shows in the 1980s were flooded in cocaine. The surf tour of the 1990s had virtually every competitor racking rails with the judges and the media before paddling out for heats. And in the new 21st century it has become completely untethered. There have been overdoses, bar fights, murders and cover-ups fuelled almost purely by cocaine.

Cocaine's place in surfing's past is mythic. Its place in surfing's present is undeniable. Its place in surfing's future is certain. There is something all too similar in riding a wave and smashing a bump. The rush is intense and beautiful and all too short. Altogether, it is a great untold story and Smith has interviewed everyone who matters, dug into the vibrant history to create a rip-roaring ride through surf culture that is enthralling, hilarious and utterly fascinating.

'a fascinating expose of surfing's untold story' GQ Australia

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780733638718
Published: June 2019

Number of pages: 288
Width: 126 mm
Height: 197 mm
Depth: 18 mm

Publisher: Hachette Australia

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.